• Concert
  • Dance

Quatuor Magenta & La Compagnie Rêvolution

  • Wednesday 31 May | 20:00
    Agora du Haut Carré
> Ticketing

Ida Derbesse, violin 
Elena Watson-Perry, violin 
Claire Pass-Lanneau, viola
Fiona Robson, cello

In co-organisation with the Cultural Service of the University of Bordeaux

The Nocturnal Metamorphoses is the first of Ligeti’s two quartets. Kept in a drawer to avoid censorship by the Hungarian People’s Republic, they were revived after the composer’s flight. In the twilight climate of total chromaticism, we hear the folk dances dear to Ligeti, but also Berg and Bartók. Almost sixty years earlier, Debussy composed his only quartet, a marriage of Gregorian modes, Far Eastern music and the French style.

At the crossroads of styles, this unique musical object in the repertoire invites the arts to meet, and this is how Anthony Egea’s Compagnie Rêvolution proposes an original choreographic creation. The encounter between hip-hop dance and string quartet will be one of the highly anticipated aspects of this concert. Haydn was at the end of his career when he composed the so-called Erdödy Quartets. He knew he was at the height of his fame, and laughed at his art with immense refinement. Parodies, winks and jibes punctuate this first quartet, Op. 76, right up to the final twist of an exposition suddenly stopped and resumed in major.

Who could be more perfect than the Magentas, 3rd prize winners at the Zukunftsklang Award Stuttgart competition in 2022 but above all finalists in the Haydn competition 2023, to play the Austrian master? Three composers, three eras, three small revolutions in the world of the quartet. A concert not to be missed.


Joseph Haydn, Quartet in G major, Op. 76 No. 1
Claude Debussy,
String Quartet in G minor opus 10
György Ligeti,
String Quartet No. 1, The Nocturnal Metamorphoses