Aviv Quartet

Sergey Ostrovsky, violon
Philippe Villafranca, violon
Noémie Bialobroda, viola
Daniel Mitnitsky, cello



Formed in Israel in 1997, the Aviv Quartet won the Grand Prize and four special prizes at the 3rd Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition (1999, Australia), 1st prize “Amadeus Prize” at the Charles Hennen Competition (Holland 1999), Schubert Prize at the Schubert Competition (2003, Graz, Austria), 2nd prize (no 1st prize awarded) and press prize at the Bordeaux String Quartet Competition (2003, France), 2nd prize at the Prague Spring Competition (Czech Republic 1998).

The Aviv Quartet has performed in leading venues around the world, including Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall (New York), Kennedy Center and The Library of Congress (Washington), Sydney Opera House, Cologne Philharmonie, Vienna Konzerthaus, Wigmore Hall and Royal Festival Hall (London), Auditorium du Louvre, Théâtre du Châtelet and Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Beethovenhaus (Bohn). In addition, The Aviv Quartet has performed in Brazil, China, Australia, Ireland, the Netherlands, Italy, Sweden, Croatia, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, Canada, Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Belgium and Switzerland.

In 1999-2003, the Aviv Quartet received several governmental awards, such as the Israeli Ministry of Culture Award (2001), the German Ministry of Education Award (1999), the Israel Lottery Foundation – Mif’al ha Pais Award (2003)

The Aviv Quartet studied with Gad Kogan, Irina Svetlova and Chaim Taub, and then continued their studies with members of the Alban Berg Quartet at the Cologne Hochschule (1998-2000) and the Daniel Quartet at the Rotterdam Conservatory. In 2002-2003 they collaborated with the Ysaye Quartet at the CNR in Paris.

In addition, the Aviv Quartet has participated in courses and master classes with members of the Amadeus Quartet, the Emerson Quartet, the Julliard Quartet, Isaac Stern, Walter Levin, Henry Mayer, Leon Fleisher, Joseph Kalichshtein, Wu Han, Ivry Gitlis, Arnold Steinhard and Paul. Katz.

Aviv, meaning “spring” in Hebrew, signifying new beginnings and the season of birth and renewed reflection encompasses the Aviv Quartet’s artistic philosophy of removing artificial coverings “to reveal true nature, sharper definition and heightened awareness”.

Its recordings for Naxos, including works by Franz Anton Hoffmeister, Erwin Schulhoff and Erno Dohnanyi, have been highly acclaimed for their freshness of spirit and first-rate string quartet quality.



Website of the Quartet